Ground 3: Peterhead

At this stage I should inform those who don’t know me, I am a journalist at the Evening Express newspaper in Aberdeen. I am a news reporter, however I was asked to cover the League Cup game at Balmoor between Peterhead and Hearts. Yes, Hearts again. This therefore might be a bit different than some of my other blog posts.

As I made my way to the press box a whole hour before kick-off I couldn’t but notice the perfect surface which would greet the players. To play on a surface like that would have been a dream, when I was playing, instead I had to put up with Inverdee and Sheddockley. Balmoor is a compact wee ground in the fishing town of Peterhead. For any Aberdeen fan you will know Peterhead as the club where all the failed Pittodrie youngsters end up. A bit harsh, but it’s true. I was sat opposite the main stand which looked splendid on the July summer’s night. With the visit of Hearts it was close to full. Behind each goals are railings with boards draped over them. Please, Peterhead FC take them down. The constant clapping of the advertisement boards did my head in. I know it was a big game for the Blue Toon but give it a rest boys. Balmoor has two virtually identical stands that run down each side of the ground. Both these all seated stands are roughly of the same height and are covered.

Balmoor (Peterhead FC)
Balmoor (Peterhead FC)

The League Cup has been getting some criticism since the league stage was introduced, but a game like this was just what the organisers were looking for. The League Two side who had nothing to lose and were going hammer and tongs at the Premiership side. By gosh did it pay off for them. I should point out that at this stage Ctrl, Alt, Delete was still in the hot seat at Hearts.

Peterhead took an early lead which was just what the game needed and forced Hearts to be attacking and go at the Blue Toon. Hearts equalised shortly after with a well worked move which was finished off by Kyle Lafferty. The former Rangers striker was again getting pelters from the home fans. I will never know why. The rest of the first half was a high energy affair, however at this early stage you could tell an upset was on the cards.

Let’s skip the majority of the second half until the 89th minute when Prince Bauben brought down Peterhead striker Jordon Brown in the box. Rory McAllister, the Peterhead talisman, stepped up and slotted the penalty past Jack Hamilton. I don’t think I have ever seen a man look that calm taking a penalty before, I’m sure he was bricking it inside. It was as if he thought he was Matt Le Tissier stepping up to slot home a spot kick for Southampton when he knew he was never going to miss. As the full-time whistle went I turned to look at the Hearts fans who were furious and understandably. It was clear they were not happy with Ian Cathro.

Balmoor (Peterhead FC)

As I walked round to interview both managers at the end of the game I couldn’t miss the massive advertisement board for the Peterhead Prison Museum. How stereotypical can that sign be.

Conducting the post-match interviews was a brilliant experience, however I do not envy any football manager having to be grilled by the press after their side loses to lower league opposition. The Hearts boss was already under pressure from the last campaign and this result did not help whatsoever. The inevitable had to be asked about his future to which he refused to answer. The Hearts players were barred by the club’s press team from doing any interviews, which is bad for the press but I felt more for the fans who again made their way to the North-east for a midweek game in large numbers.

Jim McInally on the other hand was brilliant, probably because his team won. A friendly guy who was open with the press which is always good to hear.

Balmoor is a tidy ground and you can tell it is a very well run club. From the minute I walked into the reception to the moment I left at 10.30pm the officials were very accommodating. A note if you are heading up to Balmoor during the winter months though, wear layers!

Fact: Balmoor is the greatest distance between a senior league football ground and its nearest railway station in the UK. The nearest station is Aberdeen.

Price: Free (reporting for Evening Express)

Attendance: 1602

One thought on “Ground 3: Peterhead

Leave a comment